top of page

Room for Dreaming


The past couple of weeks, I have been participating in an e-course led by a former student of mine, Abby Norman. I coached Abby when I was a graduate assistant at Ball State University. She was the first student to sign up for coaching with me to kind of “test the waters.” Luckily, I passed the test and soon others signed up to coach with me as well. Ironically, it was Abby’s then boyfriend, now husband, Christian who I had approached the year before at the NFA (National Forensic Association) National Tournament. I announced to he and his duo partner Chad that I would be (assisting with) coaching the Ball State team the following year. Unbeknownst to me, this was not common knowledge to the team. So, I had freaked out a couple of team members before I even arrived. Luckily, that all smoothed over quickly.

Additionally while I was at Ball State, I plunged head first into problem drinking, and connected to that was twice a victim of sexual assault. Neither time did the Muncie Police department do anything about it other than call me a liar. In fact, the second time, the police told me that the man I accused had taken a lie detector test and had inconclusive results, so in order to proceed, I would also have to take a lie detector test. It was Abby who was kind enough to drive me to that appointment, and it was Abby who listened and didn’t judge as I screamed and cried over failing the test. To this day, I believe that I did not lie and I have no clue as to why the test concluded that I did.

Luckily, today I am on my ninth year living alcohol free, and seventh year tobacco free. My life is far calmer and healthier than the life I was living in Muncie. I created problems for so many people around me back then. I know many have forgiven me for that. I am so beyond grateful. I pray that I forgive as deeply and sincerely as they have.

So, back to the present. I am so grateful for my connection with Abby and so proud of the work she is doing. Check out her bog here: http://accidentaldevotional.com/ She has a TED talk, a book, and this e course. She is also working on a big book deal which I whole heartedly believe she will achieve.

Room for Dreaming is an e-course helping the participants to remember to dream and start living that dream now. I want to put my talents to use now, not “Someday.” So, those moments when thoughts and inspiration are bubbling up, but it seems inconvenient to do anything about it, I am going to write. I am going to keep submitting for publication, keep performing at open mics, keep expressing what I need to express. I have been inspired afresh and the course isn’t even over yet. If you get the chance to read Abby’s work or take a course of hers, please do!

Thank you, Abby!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page